Combat Ready Devotional #4

Isn’t this what we told you in Egypt, ‘Leave us alone so that we can serve the Egyptians, because it is better for us to serve the Egyptians than to die in the desert!’”

Exodus 14:12

Serve The LORD

The Israelites had a narrow vision. They didn’t see what God saw. They were happy being servants in Egypt, at least they had all the food they can eat and all the water and wine they can drink. Life wasn’t too bad for them, or so they thought. They didn’t want to go through the process of God eliminating their bad habits so they can serve Him instead of Egypt. They didn’t want to be a holy nation. They didn’t want God so God allowed them to die in the desert.

God has great plans for you even though you can’t see it. To realize these plans you have to be torn away from serving the wrong master. This is a painful experience. It’s easy to see why the Israelites complained. We want the best of what this world has to offer. But, God wants to offer you the best of the next world. To get that, you must put aside everything that gets in the way of you serving Him alone. Don’t look back. Trust in God.


This is an excerpt from the upcoming companion devotional to Combat Ready. These devotionals are not in the same order as they will appear in the printed book and may not be in the final form. To read more devotionals click here. To purchase the original book, Combat Ready, click here or go anywhere else books are sold.

Categories: Being a Christian, Books, Devotional, Exodus | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “Combat Ready Devotional #4

  1. I am curious; in light of the fact that archaeological consensus rules out any Egyptian slavery, exodus or invasion of Canaan, and has done for quite some time, how do you square away the biblical account?
    Do you consider it myth or allegory?
    I am sure you don’t see it as an actual occurrence so I’m interested in what light you do see it?

    Looking forward to your reply.

    • Just because there is no archeological evidence doesn’t mean it didn’t occur. Yes, I do believe in the actual occurrence of the events described in Exodus. Besides, why would the Egyptian government want to record a humiliating event. There is evidence of other cover ups by Egyptian Pharos of previous regimes.

      • Just because there is no archaeological evidence doesn’t mean it didn’t occur.

        Then could you explain why every secular archaeologist, including Finkelstein, Herzog, former Christian William Devers , and Chief Rabbi Wolpe has stated that is didn’t occur and that after a quarter of a century or more not a scrap of evidence has been found, including no evidence of where the Israelites were supposed to have ‘camped’ for many years?
        That not a single secular Egyptologist believes the biblical tale or that any evidence has ever been found of such bondage in Egypt. ( not withstanding the numbers recorded in the bible and the fact there would have been economic collapse should this vast multitude suddenly upped and left.

        As you say it did happen, could you tell me please which Pharaoh was on the throne when this event was supposed to have happened and what other evidence do you have that refutes current scientific claims that it didn’t? Especially in light of the evidence from Jericho?

        • I can’t explain why those archaeologists believe what they do no more than you can explain why so many theologians, scholars, and Christian archaeologists and scientists believe that the exodus account in Genesis is true.

          We obviously have two different basic assumptions. I assume there is a Creator God who revealed Himself to people throughout time, they recorded their experiences down to what we now call the Bible. You have a different assumption. So, going back and forth here with you is pointless. Nothing you say will make me believe in the Bible and God less. And, I doubt anything I say will change your mind either.

          Further, there are no scientific claims that it didn’t happen, only educated guesses. No, I can’t give you the name of the Pharaoh when it happened because nobody is for sure exactly when it happened.

          I don’t claim to know much about Egyptian history, but I do know for a time Egypt was ruled by Semitic Kings. These would have been relatives of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Joseph. This would have made it easy for them to travel into the land of Egypt as they saw fit. It also explain why it was no big deal that Joseph became 2nd in charge over all of Egypt. The Bible says different people came to power in Egypt. I assume this would have been the end of the reign of the Semitic Kings and the rise to power of Egyptian kings. Of course they wouldn’t have liked all the Hebrews living there.

          Anyways, the real question is why did you feel the need to come here in the first place to ‘try’ to convince me my views are wrong?

  2. I can’t explain why those archaeologists believe what they do no more than you can explain why so many theologians, scholars, and Christian archaeologists and scientists believe that the exodus account in Genesis is true.

    But I can. It is called indoctrination. Plain and simple. That you are unable to recognise this is evidence of the power this form of mental inculcation. Ask any religious deconvertee.

    We obviously have two different basic assumptions. I assume there is a Creator God who revealed Himself to people throughout time, they recorded their experiences down to what we now call the Bible. You have a different assumption. So, going back and forth here with you is pointless. Nothing you say will make me believe in the Bible and God less. And, I doubt anything I say will change your mind either.

    I agree. And all one can hope is you will eventually realise the reason why you believe what you do and why so many have discovered it is simply erroneous.
    Meantime, I wish you well and simply ask that you allow any children you come into contact with the opportunity to discover their own path without inculcating them. Allow them to reach an age where they can exercise critical thought as adults.
    A fair request I would say, wouldn’t you?

    Further, there are no scientific claims that it didn’t happen, only educated guesses..

    Sorry, but here you are not quite right. These ‘guesses’ as you term them are made after decades of painstaking scientific research in the field, not merely by rejecting the texts in an ancient book.
    I suggest for a more balanced view you read Finkelstein and Devers. Kenyon too, and also Rabbi Wolpe and others who have a deep understanding of Hebrew and archaeology.

    No, I can’t give you the name of the Pharaoh when it happened because nobody is for sure exactly when it happened

    Then you cannot be sure it did, can you?

    I don’t claim to know much about Egyptian history, but I do know for a time Egypt was ruled by Semitic Kings. These would have been relatives of Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, and Joseph. This would have made it easy for them to travel into the land of Egypt as they saw fit. It also explain why it was no big deal that Joseph became 2nd in charge over all of Egypt. The Bible says different people came to power in Egypt. I assume this would have been the end of the reign of the Semitic Kings and the rise to power of Egyptian kings. Of course they wouldn’t have liked all the Hebrews living there.

    They would NOT have been relatives of Abraham as it has been established there was no such person as Abraham or Moses. The Pentateuch is fiction. I suggest you would do well to study or read Finkelstein and Wolpe. This would help you develop a more balanced, and less evangelical fundamentalist view which could only help you.

    Anyways, the real question is why did you feel the need to come here in the first place to ‘try’ to convince me my views are wrong?

    You blog in an open forum. Religion fascinates me. I was under the impression you would welcome open dialogue? There is a private facility on WordPress if you wish to invite only like-minded individuals?. Or you can simply ban or delete my comments.

    Furthermore, you are obviously serious about what you believe. Therefore, shouldn’t you be as knowledgeable and well-rounded in that belief and actively encourage query?
    Surely you don’t accept what you believe in based on blind faith?

    I am an out and out atheist but if you feel you have the verifiable evidence to demonstrate that my non-god belief is wrong, I welcome any information. Truly.

    • I have no desire to read any of the authors you mentioned. I am firm in my beliefs. I enjoy studying history and especially languages but it’s impossible to know everything. I realize my belief in the Bible is foolishness to you. But, that’s okay, I don’t mind being a fool for Christ Jesus.

      I didn’t create my blog to debate the existence of God or the facts of the Bible. There are plenty of other blogs out there for that. My blog is to encourage and help people understand the Bible and how to live a godly life. You are not here for that. You are here to mock and antagonize.

      I’ve learned long ago that I don’t need to prove God is alive or defend God. God can defend Himself and I will allow Him to do that. Jesus said that if someone doesn’t welcome you then dust the dirt off your shoes and move on. He didn’t want his disciples wasting time arguing with someone who has no desire to learn about the gospel. I’ve been living by this principle for a few years now. that’s why I don’t spend time arguing with people who don’t care to learn about the Bible and God.

      You sound like someone desperately searching for God, not an atheist. I’ve known atheists and they want nothing to do with God. Hence atheist, without God. You, on the other hand seem quite interested in God and the Bible but are unwilling to go as far as putting your faith in God. You are an agnostic, without knowledge (of God).

      I’ll tell you that you don’t need to search for God. He is already near you and wants you. All you have to do is accept Him and stop fighting against Him.

      Just a piece of trivia for you: the first time atheist was used was when the Romans called the Christians that. They called them that because they didn’t believe in all the Greek and Roman gods. They only believed in the one True God.

      • You sound like someone desperately searching for God, not an atheist.

        Sorry to disappoint you on this score. As I already mentioned, religion is fascinating, especially its history, which I enjoy.
        You frame your statement using the capital ‘G’ as if this would have some sort of effect on me, why I do not know?
        Atheists do not believe in gods, plural, so why would I lend any more credence to your god than I would Zeus?

        If you have no desire to read Finklestein etc this is not any great source of worry. I thought you might find it interesting that’s all.
        I read and research quite a broad spectrum of beliefs.
        Yes, I was aware of your piece of trivia which rather highlights that you too are in effect also an atheist.
        You just believe in one more god than I do!

        I realize my belief in the Bible is foolishness to you. But, that’s okay, I don’t mind being a fool for Christ Jesus.

        I think it is presumptuous to suggest what I think about you and your beliefs. You are an adult and are entitled to believe whatever you wish, providing you afford the same respect to others, especially children who have yet to reach an age where they are capable of making an informed decision concerning religion.
        This, I hope you would agree is the honest way to approach religion and a shows integrity?

        • But Jesus said, “Let the little children come to me and do not try to stop them, for the kingdom of heaven belongs to such as these.” (‭Matthew‬ ‭19‬:‭14‬ NET)

          One of many references in the Bible to raise children in the fear of The Lord (reverence). I agree that adults ought to make their own informed decisions as I did before I chose to become a Christian. Whereas children ought to be taught how to live in this sinful world as a Christians. But, When they are grown they have the ability to choose their own path.

          • Sadly by then, so many have been indoctrinated,and especially worrying is when Fundamentalists ( christian and other religions) for example get their hands on young children and indoctrinate them with religion through fear. Hell etc.
            Thank goodness in certain areas this is being vehemently challenged, as in the UK where a ruling against ACE has been passed preventing them from
            inculcating insidious Creationism into nursery school children.

            Men compiled the bible for their own ends so I don’t out that much stock in it., and especially not words that are attributed to the character Jesus of Nazareth.
            The gospels are not eyewitness accounts and thus untrustworthy.

            There is no such thing as sin, this is a theological word and has no relevance outside this setting.
            One does not need religion or god belief to be ethical, moral or to know how to be taught how to the right thing.

            I am a very moral person and consider religion and god belief anathema.

            The test of the efficacy of religion is that a person should automatically be drawn toward it and its teaching without any form of coercion or inducement. This is a measure of the power of a god – any god.
            Sadly this does not happen.
            A person born into a Muslim family will likely be Muslim and the same apples to any religion you care to mention, and each will believe in its own superiority.

            • Now you are contradicting yourself. You said in your last comment that I should respect other beliefs in which I do. You clearly do not so you hold other to a higher standard. Now you want to berate people for believing in the Bible and raising their children to believe in God.

              I told you this was not a forum for that. Find another blog please. I’m asking you nicely to not comment here anymore. Thank you and God bless.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Rus Alan

Kingdom Minded living with issues related to discipleship, the Holy Spirit, and power.

530 Media Project

Reaching out to the community

A Glimpse of Heaven: The Philosophy of True Health

A Glimpse of Heaven: The Philosophy of True Health

Connect Missions

Go and Make Disciples | Movements | Christ | Church | Missions

Crossroads

Support for questioning & transitioning Adventist pastors

Old Adventist Wineskins

What 300,000 SDAs who leave every year wish they knew before they joined.

Bible Topic Exposition

Searching the Scriptures about various Bible topics

Richardson Seventh-day Adventist Church

Sharing the Adventist Message with all the DFW Area & the World in this Generation

2020 Church

the church of the future, ready for now

Urban Evangelists

Praise God!! Jesus is coming soon...

Life As A Hebrew:

Stripping Away Cultural Inheritance

novice landscapes

a new life in grace

Comments on Christianity

Bloggers engaging the culture for Christ.

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

POLITIXICAN

graphic design from a conservative point of view

darfirst

Just another WordPress.com site

Denice Simmonds-Author of Erotic Suspense

Because the only thing funner than reading it is writing it

Worship Sense Blog

Online worship planning and volunteer scheduling

