Imagine the Possibilities

English: Adam & Eve in garden of Eden Русский:...

 

Have you ever just stopped and wondered what it was like in the Garden of Eden? I have and it’s kind of hard to imagine it. A perfect world with no sin. Our bodies and brains fully developed and fully functional. We are strong and can think lightening quick. Speaking of lightning; no thunderstorms, hurricanes, earthquakes, or tornadoes. No diseases. No sickness. No hatred. No fear. No anger. No sadness. And on I can go.

 

As great as the Garden of Eden was, I think heaven will be even better. It will be better because we personally experienced this fallen world and now we can personally experience a perfect world for eternity. We can look back and say, “I overcame evil with the help of Jesus.” Adam and Eve could never say that as they were given a perfect world to start with.

 

I try to imagine paradise. The best place here on earth. But, I can only imagine for so long until I start thinking of giant spiders, sunburns, bad weather, and anything else that can go wrong.

 

I can imagine heaven will be great. I’ll have a house of my own. My own vineyards. Walk on gold. Live freely and happily. Be able to see beautiful scenery. Converse with people who lived in all ages. But that is as far as my mind can take it. I can’t fully imagine it because I haven’t been able to fully experience anything like it.

 

I know heaven will be great. I know I will enjoy it fully. And, I know you will too. Take a few minutes to describe what you think paradise will be like and what you expect there.

 

Categories: Being a Christian, New Testament, Old Testament, Resurrection | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Imagine the Possibilities

  1. Jaye

    Your posting made think of a very interesting talk on creation by Rob Bell in his series – Poets, Prophets, and Preachers. Somewhere in his discussion on Gen 1-2, I remember he asked the question, ‘What is that you do, that you could do forever?” To me, that would be heaven! Heaven would be being able to continue doing the things I love doing in my life now…working, learning, creating (even writing in my blog), exploring, worshiping (God), and joyfully being with my loved ones (including my animals) forevermore. And then even more…even more than I can imagine!.

  2. I used to want things, or activities which we have all heard of, or thought of enjoying, in an existence without limitations… but for me it has become less and less about those things and more and more simply being about Him.

    At the risk of sounding cliche, and when it all boils down, all I really look forward to in Heaven is the lack of separation from the totality of God. I think back to the times I have spent in His presence where the intensity was so great I was physically uncomfortable, having reached the limitations of my flesh, and lamenting those limitations because I so desperately wanted more of Him… but could not withstand it, much like Moses on the mount when God passed by and covered him for his safety sake.

    Once you have looked into the face of God, nothing else really matters.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Rus Alan

Kingdom Minded living with issues related to discipleship, the Holy Spirit, and power.

530 Media Project

Reaching out to the community

A Glimpse of Heaven: The Philosophy of True Health

A Glimpse of Heaven: The Philosophy of True Health

Connect Missions

Go and Make Disciples | Movements | Christ | Church | Missions

Crossroads

Support for questioning & transitioning Adventist pastors

Old Adventist Wineskins

What 300,000 SDAs who leave every year wish they knew before they joined.

Bible Topic Exposition

Searching the Scriptures about various Bible topics

Richardson Seventh-day Adventist Church

Sharing the Adventist Message with all the DFW Area & the World in this Generation

2020 Church

the church of the future, ready for now

Urban Evangelists

Praise God!! Jesus is coming soon...

Life As A Hebrew:

Stripping Away Cultural Inheritance

novice landscapes

a new life in grace

Comments on Christianity

Bloggers engaging the culture for Christ.

Im ashamed to die until i have won some victory for humanity.(Horace Mann)

Domenic Garisto/havau22.com / IF YOU CAN'T BE THE POET, BE THE POEM (David Carradine) LIFE IS NOT A REHERSAL,SO LIVE IT.

POLITIXICAN

graphic design from a conservative point of view

darfirst

Just another WordPress.com site

Denice Simmonds-Author of Erotic Suspense

Because the only thing funner than reading it is writing it

Worship Sense Blog

Online worship planning and volunteer scheduling

